frame

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

DebateIsland.com is the largest online debate website globally where anyone can anonymously and easily debate online, casually or formally, while connecting with their friends and others. Users, regardless of debating skill level, can civilly debate just about anything online in a text-based online debate website that supports five easy-to-use and fun debating formats ranging from Casual, to Formalish, to Lincoln-Douglas Formal. In addition, people can improve their debating skills with the help of revolutionary artificial intelligence-powered technology on our debate website. DebateIsland is totally free and provides the best online debate experience of any debate website.

Communities

It is reasonable to believe God exists

Debate Information

Hello all. I am new to this debate website. I am still trying to figure out this format, it's quite different from what I'm used to. I'm probably doing this all wrong, so please forgive me.

Anyway, I thought I would do a quick, casual "debate" to get started.

Today's topic is simple. That is it is reasonable to believe God exists.

I will present one major argument, and all detractors and naysayers are welcome.

P1. Everything which began to exist has a cause.

P2. The universe began to exist.

P3. Therefore the universe has a cause.

This is not my personal favorite argument but it is one I still like, and I believe it goes through. A quick overview of the premises.

P1. Nothing cannot bring about something. Nothing, by definition, is not anything. It is the absence of being. Nothing has no properties, nothing has no causal power. P1 is a metaphysical truth, with constant confirmation from our inference.